Agamemnon wrote:myanbar wrote:t's a fencing term. A "play" refers to a fencing technique, a specific string of actions and responses. The translations of old fechtbuchs are where the term comes from. Free sparring is often known as freeplay. Plays with the sword are "swordplay." I believe it's a very good word choice and it adequately describes a length of 2 tempos. The real world meaning of play lines up with the in-game meaning of play. So, you're looking at the word with its theatrical definition in mind, but the appropriate context is the fencing definition. I expect many modern RPG players unfamiliar with HEMA will read it the way you did. Similarly I think most will see "fencing" and think not of real fighting with real weapons but of sport fencing. I think that's okay because these games can spark an interest in HEMA, and it's good to use terms associated with it.
Good. The little grumbler stops grumbling.
In that case a snippet explaining how things came to be would be neato. Not all of the people playing are into HEMA. Without some reference many points will be lost, these HEMA term associations making sense only to HEMA practitioners.
myanbar wrote:Deflect saysClose-reach or shorter weapons are AC1 unless they have a complex guard or basket hilt, as are any hafted weapons when used one-handed.
If I understand things correctly. Otherwise Agamemnon or higgins will correct me.
But what is this about hafted weapons? Does that mean one-handed hafted weapons always have AC1, and that one-handed hafted weapons with a complex guard or basket hilt have AC0 instead?
Only Short hafted weapons are 1h. These always Deflect at AC1.
Medium are 1.5h. These deflect one-handed at AC1 or two-handed at AC0.
Hafted weapons don't have a Basket Hilt/Complex Guard option. This is for Blades only.
What about your forearms? Does "unarmed" count as a "weapon" for the purpose of Deflect's AC?
Your forearms are Hand reach weapons. So they Deflect at AC1. Plus they suffer a MoS0 Swing by default when the Deflect succeeds.
Another question, this one a tactical one: Since Expulsion always costs AC1, and assuming Expulsion is generally "better" than Deflect, then if you're in a situation where your Deflect would be AC1, do you have any reason to perform a Deflect instead of an Expulsion? Are there maneuvers or other qualities that interact with Deflect but not Expulsion, or vice versa?
Mainly Links. A Deflect can be part of a Link, whereas an Expulsion can't. Plus it requires a weapon or a shield -- no unarmed Expulsions. That aside, I think that Expulsion should also share the same AC increase with Deflection: +1AC for using Close-Reach or shorter Blade without Complex Guard/Basket Hilt OR Hafted weapon used one handed.
I don't understand the purpose of Master-Strike. It has no benefit on an attack; the rules say to just treat it as an attack. You'd pay AC2 for nothing. It only has benefit on defense, and that benefit is to improve upon a standard Compound Link. Why doesn't Master-Strike just say it's DEF only (not "OFF or DEF"), say you perform a Deflect & Swing or Deflect & Thrust, but if your Deflect is successful you get the bonuses: your MoS as bonus dice to your follow-up Swing or Thrust, and no Disadvantage on it.
- Declare as an attack and pay the activation cost. Roll vs. Base TN.
- If your opponent is defending, treat as a normal swing or thrust attack.
- If your opponent is attacking (even in a Red/Red), Master-Strike counts as though you’d used the Compound link maneuver for a Deflect & Swing (or Thrust).
- If the initial die roll is successful, you gain your MoS for an additional attack made in the same Tempo.
- Unlike a normal Linked attack, the secondary maneuver does not suffer a disadvantage for using the blade again.
One: is it supposed to somehow be possible to launch two attacks in one tempo with it? That's the understanding I take from the language of "If the initial die roll is successful, you gain your MoS for an additional attack made in the same Tempo." Referring to the preceding maneuver as "the first die roll" rather than "the attack" or "the defense" implies the roll could be either of those things. This is reinforced by how it says you can make an "additional" attack. So, are you supposed to be able to use Master-Strike to attack, then follow up with another attack?
Yes. If the opponent defends I roll as normal attack. If the attack goes through I immediately gain MoS dice to make another Swing or Thrust in the same tempo.
Two: If it's a Red/Red situation, do you declare this as an offense, or as a defense? If two people in Red/Red Master-Strike each other, do they count as "Defending" to one another?
More tricky. I think that they both end up as "defending". Winner deflects and makes a MoS followup. On Tie no defense succeeds, no followup occurs, and Initiative stays with original attacker.
The real question here is this: Who is the original attacker in a Red/Red?
Three: Are you allowed to use defenses other than Deflect, and attacks other than Swing and Thrust? The Maneuver does say you act as if you're doing a Deflect & Swing or Deflect & Thrust, not that you have the choice of doing something like a Beat or Murder Stroke instead.
No, the text is explicit. If the opponent attacks I roll as a normal defense (deflect). If the defense succeeds I immediately gain MoS dice for another Swing/Thrust followup in the same tempo.
If you want Murder Strokes (or anything but Swing/Thrust) in there, or another Defense (which by the way is the only linkable alternative to Deflect is Dodge) you'll have to use Compound or Counter.
It's perfect if you ask me.
8) The book says you could perform a Deflect Counter & [Bind & Strike]. How would this work in practice?
Now that is a bitch. It depends on what you are using.
Let's say you use sword and shield and your CP is 12. Your opponent is similarly equipped and is at 12CP too.
- Tempo1: You Deflect with the sword blade with 6 (+1AC Compound) dice against a 6 dice swing. You score 4 the opponent scores 3. MoS1. You get 3 extra dice for Bind.
- Tempo2: You have 5+3=8 dice. Opponent has 6 dice. You Bind with shield for 6 dice (1CP left) with no Disadvantage. Opponent goes with Expulsion at 5 dice (0CP left). You score 4 vs 3 = MoS1 again.
You have the choice to either:
- Inflict MoS1 Impact to opponent that carries over Refresh because he is at 0CP.
- Continue with a 2 dice (1CP left + MoS1) unopposed Strike to your opponent. If you opt to strike with the shield or with the blade you are at Disadvantage. Instead you can Thrust with the pommel or kick him in the nuts at normal chances.
As you can see it comes down to choice of gear. If you used a single rapier you couldn't Bind (requires shield); instead you could Deflect Counter & [Beat & Strike Compound] for example. And you'd have fewer different parts to link in order to avoid Disadvantage.